Parent Advisory Council

Active participation in the Parent Advisory Council is a rewarding way to share in your son or daughter's college years. Although all parents of UA undergraduate students receive resources from Parent Programs and are invited to be partners in their student’s education, council members take an active role at the University by serving as liaisons between the University and parents. Ideal applicants are energetic, creative, and dedicated to the improvement of the University and its support of students and their families.

The University of Alabama Parent Advisory Council is comprised of parents of UA undergraduates who:

•Help to heighten awareness of the need for parental involvement at Alabama
•Serve as an advisory board to the Office of Parent Programs
•Support the University and encourage other parents to do the same

Council Member Requirements:


•Meet once each semester to learn ways to support students, discuss issues concerning parents, interact with University administration, and serve as the voice of all UA parents.
•Advise the Office of Parent Programs as to important issues facing University of Alabama families.
•Promote “staying connected” with the University among parents of current and prospective UA students.
•Be knowledgeable of campus resources and share information about those with other UA parents.
•Volunteer during parent orientation, family weekend, and other campus events.
•Support the University by making an annual financial contribution to the Parents Fund.
•Serve a two year renewable term on the Parents Advisory Council.

 

Meet the Council:

Mr. Russell Belisle & Mrs. Jodice Lee-Belisle

Collierville, TN

jodicebelsile@yahoo.com

Mr. Kenneth Breland & Mrs. Kathy Breland

Indian Rocks Beach, FL

ken.breland@att.net

Ms. Sue Burns

Mission Viejo, CA

sweetoothforyou@gmail.com

 

Ms. Teresa Caldwell

Nashville, TN

cteresa@aol.com

 

Mr. Aubrey Coleman, Sr. & Mrs. Debra Coleman

Hoover, AL

debrawcoleman@charter.net

Ms. Heather Coleman

Montgomery, AL

heathercoleman@bellsouth.net

Mr. Milton Dilligard

Burlington Township, NJ

mdilligard@yahoo.com

 

Ms. Karen Dubin

Doylestown, PA

kdubin@comcast.net

Ms. Julie Faught

Pinson, AL

Faughtjulie@yahoo.com

 

Mr. Gary Freeman, Jr. & Mrs. Jeanae Freeman

Birmingham, AL

gfreeman98@bellsouth.net

Mr. David Grady & Mrs. Marsha Grady

Iowa City, IA

marshakgrady@gmail.com

 

Ms. Debra Harris

Snellville, GA

dewija3@gmail.com

Mr. John Hutchinson & Mrs. Marnie Hutchinson

Birmingham, AL

mhutch3875@aol.com

 

Mr. Mark Jacobs

McKinney, TX

markjacobs05@att.net

 

Mr. Ed Jenkins & Mrs. Sharon Jenkins

West Chester, OH

smjcincy@gmail.com

Stuart Lewis

Knoxville, TN

stuart.lewis51@gmail.com

 

 

Mr. Frank Long & Mrs. Geraldine Long

Birmingham, AL

gsl54@hotmail.com

 

Ms. Kristi Jones

Anderson, SC

kristi.jones@charter.net

Mr. Neil Koonce and Mrs. Jamie Koonce

Knoxville, TN

jkoonce111@aol.com

Ms. Tammy Martin

Hattisburg, MS

msmartins@comcast.net

Ms. Millie McWilliams

Selma, AL

millie.mcwilliams@yahoo.com

Ms. Lucy Medvec

Shreveport, LA

medvecLB@aol.com

Paul Mulkerrin

Rye, NY

CollegeLab@gmail.com

 

Larry Olson

Briarcliff Manor, NY

larry.olsen@teamrwb.org

 

Mr. Ajay Pathak and Mrs. Starla Pathak

Belmont, MA

starla.pathak@gmail.com

 

Ms. Melissa Patterson

Rock Hill, SC

faithfulmp22@hotmail.com

Mr. Stuart Payne & Mrs. Stacey Payne

Prattville, AL

slgp98@yahoo.com

Mr. Ty Peace

Woodstock, GA

tpeace@bellsouth.net

Mrs. Rosie Rodriguez

Miami Beach, FL

spirit02@bellsouth.net

Mr. Barry Self & Mrs. Debbie Self

Birmingham, AL

barry_self@ajg.com

Mr. Robert Vincent, Jr. & Mrs. Melanie Vincent

Cullman, AL

swthmal25@aol.com

Ms. Ruthe Wynne & Kevin Taliaferro

Sacramento, CA

rwynnelaw@gmail.com

Mrs. Dominique Yancey

San Ramon, CA

dominique.yancey@comcast.net

Mr. Jeff Whitehorn & Mrs. Jennifer Whitehorn

Brentwood, TN

jeff.whitehorn@HCAHealthcare.com

 

To apply for membership on the Parents Advisory Council, contact the Office of Parent Programs at (205) 348-8404 or by email at parents@ua.edu.